Chef Confidential

…every pantry has a story

Pickling Spice…

image

My canning fever has not subsided, this past weekend I made dill pickles. Unhappy with the contents of premade pickling spices, I ventured off on my own. After reaearching a few different versions, eliminating items I don’t like, such as star anise, this is what i ended up with.

I used a mix of yellow and brown mustard seeds, the brown mustard sees have a little bite to them. You could use whatever, you prefer or have on hand. While I used black peppercorns, because that is all I had, when I replenish the jar, I’ll be getting mixed or rainbow peppercorns. My go to spice shop is Penzey’s, I am lucky to have shop nearby, there are also online, www.penzeys.com/. They have great prices, and the staff is wonderful.

Pickling Spice

1 cinnamon stick, broken
2 dried bay leaves broken
4 whole cloves
2 tbl mustard seeds
2 tbl whole coriander
1 tbl mixed peppercorns
4 whole allspice
2 tsp dill seed
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp celery seed

Mix all the ingredients together, store in airtight container, I prefer glass, especially Fido jars. I feel as though the fragrances of the spices will age together nicely.

My plan is to replenish as I use, my starter batch was a double. When I obtain mixed peppercorns, I will add another double batch to the jar. After that, I will only replace the amount that I used.

2 comments on “Pickling Spice…

  1. Pingback: Pickles, Oh Pickles… | Chef Confidential

  2. chef mimi
    July 28, 2015

    My god, I didn’t even know that Penzey’s was an actual shop. I’d be there once a week if there was one nearby. Great pickling mix!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 20, 2015 by in Canning & Pickling, Coffee Klatch and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

