Chef Confidential

…every pantry has a story

Perforated Sheet Pan and Docker…

I’ve had a few people ask me, about the pan that I used to make the focaccia bread, as well as the white spiked tool that was pictured. The perforated sheet pan really comes in handy, when I am baking, obviously focaccia bread, like I just did. I also use it when I’m baking rolls, pizza, or anything that you would like to have a crispy crust on. It’s a great way to reheat Pizza, Stromboli, or if you want to give a crunch a store-bought roll. I know that you can buy frozen rolls, and bread at the Grocery, using the perforated pan, would really add a homemade touch to them.

Perforated Pan

 

The perforated pan is roughly 13 X 18, and really wasn’t that expensive to purchase. I bought mine at Sur La Table, under $15. Just about, the only drawback, if you could really call it a drawback, is that it acts like a sieve. So any flour, or if you wanted to try use cornmeal, is going to come right through the holes in the bottom.

Aceto Docker

The docker, is made by Ateco, a company that makes professional grade tools, very affordable, for everyday cooks. The purpose of the docker, is to prevent the dough from rising too much. It is a very similar concept to that of, sticking tines of a fork, into your pie crust, to prevent the crust from puffing. The docker stops the pizza dough, from doing the same thing. The end with the tines is about 5 inches across, each tine is about a 1/2 inch long. I bought my docker a while ago, but I think it was under or close to $10 to purchase.

When I am buying kitchen tools, the first thing I think about is, how versatile are they, and can they multi-task. I am not likely, to invest a lot of money, into a one trick pony. The kitchen is no stranger, and often a victim to copious amounts of gadgets, some are great, some not so great. I have bought a clunker now and again, but both of these really pass the test.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2014 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

