Chef Confidential

…every pantry has a story

88 days until…

It’s hot as blazes out already today in sunny Florida, summer is making an early showing, 11:00 already 83, feels like 88. Which happens to be a fitting number since it is 88 days, until the 2014 NFL seasons kicks off. Seriously, as I was typing I check the weather and it said feels like 88. As I have state in prior posts, I am a sports junkie, I love me some baseball, but I love football too. So, I got a hankering for some football snacks, and these came to mind. These Hushpuppies, are something, that in the cool of fall, you don’t mind making…

Cheese & Beer Hushpuppies

Cheese & Beer Hushpuppies

These are really easy, and you can have fun with the ingredients. If you want them hot and spicy fire them up with some cayenne pepper or chopped jalapeno, or add chipotle to half the batch for a smokey heat. The cheese can be about anything, if I was using cheddar, I would add paprika to the batter, I think they play nicely together. The beer also can be changed up, you want something with some depth to it, so I would stick to a lager,  or red, also a porter or stout could be good as well. Just like switching up the ingredients, you can switch up the dipping sauce as well. Pictured here is a jezebel sauce, however a red pepper jelly, or  Sweet Chili Sauce, I like Maggi, works as well. My favorite kind of recipe, is one that presents as a blank slate, allowing you to create a new, and unique treat each time.

Cheese & Beer Hushpuppies

1 cup yellow cornmeal

½ cup flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/2  cup shredded pepper jack cheese, or cheddar or  whatever you like

1/3  c finely chopped or grated onion

1/3 c finely chopped red pepper

1 egg, slightly beaten

2/3 c lager beer, or ale, or whatever you have

Oil for frying, I use Canola.

Red pepper jelly, Jezebel sauce or Sweet Chili Sauce, for dipping

In a medium bowl mix cornmeal, flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Add cheese, onion and red sweet pepper; toss to combine. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture. In another medium sized bowl mix egg and beer, there will be expansion, don’t be tempted to use a small bowl, like I did.  Add all at once to flour mixture, stirring just until moistened.

In a 3-quart saucepan heat 2-inches of oil to 375 degrees F. For each hush puppy, drop 1 rounded tablespoon of batter into hot oil. Fry three or four at a time for 3 minutes or until golden brown, turning once. Drain on paper towels. Sprinkle with parsley, makes about 25 hush puppies

Serve hush puppies warm with the dipping sauce of your choice…

the dry...

Flour, cornmeal, et al, cheese, onion, peppers…

 

The mixing well...

The mixing well…

Egg and beer, I needed a bigger bowl, it really foams up

Egg and beer, I needed a bigger bowl, it really foams up

It foams more when it hits the baking powder

It foams more when it hits the baking powder

Mix until just moistened

Mix until just moistened

...here comes the chipotle

…here comes the chipotle

I split the batter in half, added about a tablespoon.

I split the batter in half, added about a tablespoon.

Only fry a few at a time.

Only fry a few at a time.

Golden goodness!

Golden goodness!

...a peek inside

…a peek inside

Cheese & Beer Hushpuppies

Cheese & Beer Hushpuppies

2 comments on “88 days until…

  1. mb
    June 22, 2014

    Thanks! I am such a sports junkie, for me at least there is always something to watch. I am so glad the NBA season is over that’s for sure, I am not a fan, not one bit. Come back soon…

    Like

  2. chef mimi
    June 14, 2014

    Hahahaha! I’m a fall gal myself, and I only watch football, so I totally get your post! A great recipe!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2014 by in Appetizers & Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

