Chef Confidential

…every pantry has a story

Thirsty Thursday…Double Shot

This edition of Thirsty Thursday is a double shot in a way.  Yes there will be a drink recipe but, in addition to a drink for humans, I am adding a new twist on giving your plants a drink as well.

Yesterday I was off to Home Depot to pick up a few things one of which was a watering can, when I got there the selection was very disappointing.  I need a watering can so I can water the tomato plants on the Lanai without dragging the hose through the house. Yes, I could water through the screen but that gets messy. Sure they had a few of those cutesy metal ones, that hold maybe a quart of water, and cost upwards of $20, uh no thanks. The only plastic one they had looked like it came from IKEA, it wasn’t even enclosed the water could slosh at will. Gone are the days of those great galvanized watering cans like my Grandfather used to own, which if I could find one I would pay $20 or more for because they last.

So this morning I was taking a milk jug out to the recycle bin I had a thought, what if I just poked holes in the top of the cap to diffuse the water flow.  I gave it a whirl and It worked great for watering without creating huge divots in the soil.  I did hold my thumb on part of the cap just in case it started to pop off.  I can’t imagine being the first to ever think of this but just in case…

That calls for a celebration of sorts so here is the celebratory drink, Rob’s Turtle Martini. Which has special meaning because my Brother Rob loved those turtle candies, I always think of him and smile when I see them. My Grandmother would always buy him a large box of them at Christmas, and tuck them in his college care packages, along with Vienna Sausages. Not sure if they were ever eaten in tandem but hey it was the 70’s so who knows.

Definitely chill the martini glasses first, and I use the clear creme de cacao, if you prefer you can use the chocolate colored type the flavor is the same.

Rob’s Turtle Martini

  • 2 oz Vanilla Vodka
  • 2 oz Creme de Cacao (clear)
  • 2 oz Pecan Liqueur
  • Chocolate Syrup
  • Caramel Syrup
  • Toasted Pecan Halves

Pour a small amount of the chocolate syrup onto a small plate press the rim of the chilled glass into it.  Swirl the caramel syrup around the inside of the glass, place a pecan half in the bottom of the glass.  In Shaker combine the vanilla vodka, pecan liqueur, creme de cocoa, and several ice cubes shake well pour into glass and enjoy!

One comment on “Thirsty Thursday…Double Shot

  1. ChgoJohn
    October 27, 2011

    Love the chocolate-dipped edge and the flavors of pecan and chocolate go so well together, too. This is one cocktail that’s delicious to look at and taste!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2011 by in Beverages & Cocktails, Coffee Klatch and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

