Chef Confidential

…every pantry has a story

Chicken Parm…

This one is definitely a family and extended family favorite (…miss you Meggles).  What I like best about this recipe is that you can prepare it in advance, then when you are ready just pop it in the oven. You can adjust this dish to make more or less, today I used 3 chicken breasts. It may be a little more work but investing in a chunk of good Parmesan style cheese is so worth it.  I usually buy a chunk of Locatelli Brand Pecorino – Romano, it has a really nice sharp flavor. It lasts for months, worth the $9 or $10 at your local Warehouse Store. Even though technically it isn’t parm, for all intents and purposes when I use it it’s ‘Parm’. Another great investment for the kitchen is a rasp, I may have mentioned in an earlier post.  When I am using a lot of parm the rasp helps make quick work of things.  I do have a hand crank grater for use at the table but for volume I always go with the rasp.

I use the flat side of the meat mallet to flatten the chicken down, not too flat about an inch depending on the overall size.  If you don’t have a meat mallet you can use a rolling pin or even a can of vegetables, a few good whacks is really all you need. I put each chicken Breast in a fold of plastic wrap, then just stack them as I finish.

This really is an assembly line type of recipe so prepping everything ahead is key, once that is finished the process goes quickly. So once the egg, flour and parm are setup you are practically done. When dredging the chicken breast always flour first, so the egg has something to stick to, and in turn so does the parm or any type of breading that you would be using. For that reason I always season the last part of the process, in this case the parm. If you season the flour most of it will end up in the egg dish. Also, because parm tends to be salty I do not add any to the recipe.

For the marinara sauce you can use whatever your preference is I generally make my own. For this recipe I had just made a batch of sauce, that while it isn’t labor intensive does need to cook for a good 6 hours. There are simpler ways to make a quick sauce I’ll work on a post with a few of them.

Chicken Parmesan

  • 3 Boneless Chicken Breast flattened to about an inch
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1 Egg beaten
  • 1 TBL Water
  • 1 cup Parmesan Cheese grated
  • 1 tsp Oregano
  • 1 tsp Basil
  • 1/2 tsp Pepper
  • Olive Oil
  • Marinara Sauce (at least a quart)
  • 3 slices Mozzarella Cheese
  • Pasta

In a baking dish spread a layer of marinara sauce and set aside.  Beat the egg and water together. Toss the parmesan with the herbs and pepper, dredge the chicken (flour – egg – parm).  Add olive oil to pre-heated skillet add chicken cook about 3 minutes on a side then place in baking dish, top with a slice a mozzarella and some additional sauce leaving the majority for serving.

Cover with foil. At this point you can either refrigerate and bake later.

  • bake right away for 15 minutes.
  • baking later allow for 20 minutes.

Bake 350

4 comments on “Chicken Parm…

  1. Been hearing lots about this dish and wondered what it was. Thanks for sharing! No more confused expression when I hear someone talking about chicken parmo!

    Like

    • mb
      October 20, 2011

      Glad I could help, love the name of your blog. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. notesfromrumbleycottage
    October 18, 2011

    That is a simple and easy chicken Parmesan that I should teach my kids.

    Like

    • mb
      October 20, 2011

      That would be a great idea I am all for children learing how to cook. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 18, 2011 by in Beef, Pork, Poultry, Pasta and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

