Chef Confidential

…every pantry has a story

A Year Without An Oven…

...Those boxes are all kitchen items, over 27 boxes just for cooking things 🙂

I have been away from here for a long time, it’s not that I didn’t want to write, it was finding the time to actually do it.  As you can see a few months ago I packed up and moved South from the deary and very damp Northeast.  I’m now residing on the sunny Gulf Coast of Florida.  Yay me!

I will now insert several clichés here ‘…it was the best of times, it was the worst of times’, ‘…sacrifices must be made’, etc.  As you can see from the pictures below this is my new kitchen, way bigger than my last kitchen nook.

...I painted a chalkboard onto the huge floor to ceiling pantry

However as you can see something is missing, that something would be an oven, stove top yes, oven no.

In my adorable quirky little house, it seems there was no room left on the electric service to support an oven. I just could not pass up the location, and now I live where cooking outside is a year round option, so I’ll be firing up the grill.  I am more than making do with an awesome toaster/convection oven a gift from my amazing Aunt & Uncle who took me into their home feed and sheltered me until I could move into my house.  I also have a microwave/convection oven as well, although the most I ever use a microwave is popcorn, melting butter and re-heating.  I’ve never cooked with a convection oven before, so this will be a learning experience for all parties involved.  I have to say the inside of the toaster oven is so large I have already baked bread in it with room to spare.

I am so excited to explore and learn a new city, there are so many great little Restaurants, Shops, and a Farmers Market every Saturday.  If you have a store called The Fresh Market near you, I highly recommend exploring it. My Aunt and Uncle introduced me to Fresh Market, and I am hooked to say the least great produce, meats and seafood.  I also have some yard space now so I will be able to at least have fresh herbs at hand, and hopefully some vegetables soon as well.

All in all, I’m thinking that a year without an oven won’t be as bad as it sounds…

2 comments on “A Year Without An Oven…

  1. mb
    October 5, 2011

    Thank you it is very exciting I’m really enjoying learning and exploring all there is to do and see. Yes the lack of an oven is really going to be a chanllenge that I’m going to try to turn into a positive. Thanks so much for stopping by.

    Like

  2. ChgoJohn
    October 4, 2011

    What an exciting time for you! Best of luck in your new home. No oven, though. I don’t know if I could do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2011 by in Coffee Klatch and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

