Chef Confidential

…every pantry has a story

Guacamole Salad…

I am guilty of neglect, I blame my never ending quest for gainful employment, on which I am hoping to have a breakthrough on very soon. I’ll try to get back in the grove with one of my families favorite salads.  This is based on a recipe from the Barefoot Contessa, that shockingly enough does not have one stick of butter in it.  I have made a few alterations here and there. My go to lime juice is Nellie & Joe’s Key West Lime Juice, even if you do feel like squeezing limes. Plus you can use the left overs for Key Lime Margaritas!

Caution when handling jalapeno, they are sneaky and sometimes want to blind you.  I always cut them away from me, over the trash can, cleaning out the seeds then rinsing under cold water. When you are done mincing them be sure to wash off the knife, cutting board, and hands as well.

Preparing the avocados is simple if you just run a knife around the middle then pull apart.  Removing the seed is easy, place the avocado half on the board, then carefully give it a whack with your knife to slightly embed into the seed then twist, and pull it pops right out.

One more side note on avocados my daughter worked in a restaurant one summer, there they always put the seed into the guacamole to keep it from browning. It really does work, so I do that in this recipe as well, it must be the oils from the seed.

Guacamole Salad

  • 1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
  • 2 ripe Hass avocados, seeded, peeled, and diced
  • 1 yellow, red or orange bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (15 oz) can yellow sweet corn, drained
  • 1/2 cup red onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated lime zest

Dressing

  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper

Combine all the salad ingredients gently so the avocado doesn’t become mush. Combine dressing ingredients and whisk together. Pour over salad, toss gently and enjoy!

5 comments on “Guacamole Salad…

  1. Becky Godshall
    June 8, 2011

    Oh my gosh, this is my favorite EVER! I’m putting this on my next batch of blue corn tortillas!

    Like

  2. I am always reading about avacados being so healthy. I think I might try this for something different.

    Like

    • mb
      June 8, 2011

      It’s true they are I hope you like it. Another interesting thing about avocados is that they don’t start to ripen until they are picked, which explains why there is a constant supply of them. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Casey
    June 8, 2011

    Ah that sounds so good and perfect for summer

    Like

    • mb
      June 8, 2011

      So true the temperatures here the next 3 days are almost in the triple digits. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2011 by in Salad, Sides, Vegetables and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

