Chef Confidential

…every pantry has a story

Pulled Pork Sandwich & Cider Coleslaw

I can’t say this is quick and easy, but it is low maintenance that’s for sure, made in a crock pot this is a set it and forget it kind of meal. There was one time that I took the forget it part too literally. Much to my dismay walking in the door eight hours later, expecting to met with the aroma from the spice rub, instead nothing. So always remember to actually turn the crock pot on.

I like to put the rub on the night before it gives the spices a chance to work into the pork. If you don’t have time that’s fine too. Someday I will make this in a smoker instead of a crock pot, in which case I will leave the skin on to create an amazing smoky sweet crust.  A rub is by no means an exact science, I never measure so these are my best estimates. I use a bone in fresh picnic, or shoulder roast. Personally I think meat or poultry with a bone has better flavor.

The Rub:

Mix together:

  • 1/2 c Brown Sugar
  • 2 TBL Paprika
  • 2 TBL Cumin
  • 2 TBL Chili Powder
  • 1 TBL Dry Mustard (I use Coleman’s)
  • 2 TBL Salt
  • 1 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 tsp Black Pepper

6-8 lb Pork Shoulder or Fresh Picnic.  Rinse it well with cold water then remove skin also trimming a good portion of visible fat.

Rub it in, no really rub it in like you mean it.

Place it in the removable ‘crock’, cover with plastic wrap refrigerate overnight if possible. Cook on low for 6-8 hours, I match the hours with the weight. (While the pork is cooking skip ahead to the Cider Coleslaw recipe below)

When it’s done it should easily be falling off the bone, place the pork in a large bowl and let it cool down. 

Next save the juices from the crock! Pour them off and let them cool in the fridge then skim off the fat. I use the drippings when reheating the pork to keep it from getting dry, usually a scoop of drippings and some BBQ sauce.

I know it seems like a long process trust me it is worth it in the end. After letting the pork cool down you have two options, shredding in with two large forks, or chopping it with a clever. Basically, if you like the longer shredded pieces go with the fork method, if you don’t care and maybe need let out a little frustration chop away. If you are serving this right away keep it warm and moist with some of the drippings.

We are really in the home stretch now making the cider coleslaw, making it while the pork is cooking allows the dressing time to marinade the cabbages and carrots.

Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup Cider Vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp Dry Mustard (I use Coleman’s)
  • 1 tsp Celery Seed
  • 1 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 2/3 cup Canola Oil

Mix together Cider Vinegar, mustard, celery seed, salt and sugar until the sugar is dissolved.  While whisking slowly drizzle in the oil, whisk until everything is combined and slightly thickened. Set aside.

Coleslaw:

  • 6 cups Green Cabbage, finely sliced
  • 1 cup Red Cabbage, finely sliced
  • 2 medium Carrots, peeled and grated

Toss with the dressing, cover and refrigerate stirring occasionally.  Before serving be sure to stir the coleslaw well to ensure a good coating of dressing.

A note on the red cabbage, I use a minimal amount because it will turn the entire slaw purple.  At one local store they sell them cut into smaller portions which helps when you don’t need an entire head of red cabbage. Sometimes I mix the red cabbage with dressing, keeping it seperate until serving.

After all that put it together, if you like top with your favorite BBQ sauce and enjoy!

4 comments on “Pulled Pork Sandwich & Cider Coleslaw

  1. notesfromrumbleycottage
    April 21, 2011

    My husband and kids love the pulled pork from a local BBQ joint. Maybe this can replicate what they love so much.

    Like

    • mb
      April 21, 2011

      I hope so too, I know it seems like a long process but it’s well worth it. Plus you will be able to get multiple meals from it.

      Like

  2. I love cider dressings. My wife hates mayo, so it’s sort of a necessity to branch out with the coleslaw at our house.

    Like

    • mb
      April 21, 2011

      My oldest daughter has a mayo-phobia so I know what you mean. Just seeing a glob being taken out of the jar gives her the hebee-jeebees.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2011 by in Beef, Pork, Poultry, Salad, Sandwiches and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

